Saturday, October 12, 2019

Mini reviews: The Beautiful, Grave Maidens, Treason of Thorns, Butterfly in Frost and a Giveaway!

The Beautiful
By: Renee Ahdieh
Now available!
Order your copy: Amazon.ca | Chapters - Or see below for a chance to WIN AN ARC copy!

In 1872, New Orleans is a city ruled by the dead. But to seventeen-year-old Celine Rousseau, New Orleans is a safe haven after she's forced to flee her life as a dressmaker in Paris. Taken in by the sisters of the Ursuline convent in the middle of the carnival season, Celine is quickly enraptured by the vibrant city, from its music to its fancy soirées and even its danger. She becomes embroiled in the city's glitzy underworld, known as La Cour des Lions, after catching the eye of the group's enigmatic leader, Sébastien Saint Germain.

When the body of one of the girls from the convent is found in Sébastien's own lair--the second dead girl to turn up in recent weeks--Celine battles her attraction to Sébastien and suspicions about his guilt along with the shame of her own horrible secret.
After a third murder, New Orleans becomes gripped by the terror of a serial killer on the loose--one who has now set Celine in his sights. As the murderer stalks her, Celine finally takes matters into her own hands, only to find herself caught in the midst of an age-old feud between the darkest creatures of the night, where the price of forbidden love is her life.
At once a sultry romance and a decadent, thrilling mystery, master storyteller Renée Ahdieh embarks on her most potent fantasy series yet.


My Thoughts:
Decent start to a new series...

I was really excited to receive a copy of this title from Penguin Random House Canada, and it had a fast-paced plot with murders piling up and a mystery killer that I did not guess, but the romance was a bit boring for me, I didn't really feel the chemistry between Celine and Sebastien for most of the book, it started to heat up and than we came to the end and I felt a bit ripped off, haha. 

The book is told from multiple points of view (including the Murder's) but the maority is given to Celine which I preferred (I actually wouldn't have minded no chapters from Sebastien's POV) Celine is a great Heroine and strong female protagonist. I'm not completely sold on Sebastien just yet, but I may give him another chance in book 2. I've never been to New Orlean's but Renee did a wonderful job with her vivid imagery of a dark, foggy town full of crime, mystery, parades and music that I could easily picture each scene.

If you enjoy dark fantasy mixed with murder and mystery and a bit of romance, give this title a try.


Grave Maidens

By: Kelly Coon
On sale October 29th, 2019 - Pre-order your copy!
Chapters | Amazon.ca
The start of a fierce fantasy duology about three maidens who are chosen for their land's greatest honor...and one girl determined to save her sister from the grave. 
In the walled city-state of Alu, Kammani wants nothing more than to become the accomplished healer her father used to be before her family was cast out of their privileged life in shame. 

When Alu's ruler falls deathly ill, Kammani’s beautiful little sister, Nanaea, is chosen as one of three sacred maidens to join him in the afterlife. It’s an honor. A tradition. And Nanaea believes it is her chance to live an even grander life than the one that was stolen from her. 

But Kammani sees the selection for what it really is—a death sentence.

Desperate to save her sister, Kammani schemes her way into the palace to heal the ruler. There she discovers more danger lurking in the sand-stone corridors than she could have ever imagined and that her own life—and heart—are at stake. But Kammani will stop at nothing to dig up the palace’s buried secrets even if it means sacrificing everything…including herself. 


My Thoughts:
Top 2 Favourites for 2019- The Evil Queen is tying it!

I'm so sad that this is only a duology, I could read a whole series from Kammani's POV (whole story is told in first person from Kammani solely) she is brave, modest, fierce but humbled quite a bit throughout the book to her limitations, I truly admired her love for her family and the lengths she went to save Nan (even if she didn't appreciate it), she sacrificed a lot and I'm rooting for her all the way!  

Dagan is complete Book Boyfriend material, I absolutely loved him and his devotion to Kammani and can't wait to continue to their story in book 2- Nasu still has some work to do for me to cheer him on. #TEAMDAGAN

The termonology was hard to follow without a glossary, I had to reread some positions and names a few times before I fully grasped them on, but this is a fantastic romantic fantasy that I highly recommend. I look forward to reading the series conclusion but the ending of book 1 is satisfying enough that I can wait.

A Treason of Thorns
By: Laura E. Weymouth
Now available!
Order your copy: Amazon.ca | Chapters
Dark, gripping, and utterly unique, this atmospheric historical fantasy from critically acclaimed author Laura E. Weymouth is perfect for fans of The Hazel Wood and Caraval.

Violet Sterling has spent the last seven years in exile, longing to return to Burleigh House. One of the six great houses of England, Burleigh’s magic kept both the countryside and Violet happy. 
That is, until her father’s treason destroyed everything. 
Now she’s been given a chance to return home. But Burleigh isn’t what she remembered. Wild with grief, Burleigh’s very soul is crying out in pain. As its tormented magic ravages the countryside, Vi must decide how far she’s willing to go to save her house—before her house destroys everything she’s ever known.
A house left unchecked will lead to ruin.
But I will not let it ruin me.

My thoughts:
Great beginning, but ultimately became a DNF...

Weymouth has created a very unique premise in which Houses have emotions and ability to overtake society if not kept in check with the eternal bond of a Keeper which was Violet's Dad and than Violet herself, it's a unique gift few possess.

I was really impressed with the premise and beginning of the story and I really felt for Violet when she was ripped away from all she loved, her childhood friend, father and the house she loved like family as well, but it all just kind of started to get boring from then on, for me. I didn't think there was any chemistry between Wyn and Violet and after a while the plot just stopped grabbing my interest. I may return to this one someday, but I'm in no hurry as there are plenty of other stories to read!

Butterfly in Frost

By: Sylvia Day
Now available!
Order your copy - Chapters | Amazon.ca - Also see below to win a copy!
Once, I would never have imagined myself here. But I’m settled now. In a place I love, in a home I renovated, spending time with new friends I adore, and working a job that fulfills me. I am reconciling the past and laying the groundwork for the future.
Then Garrett Frost moves in next door.
He’s obstinate and too bold, a raging force of nature that disrupts the careful order of my life. I recognize the ghosts that haunt him, the torment driving him. Garrett would be risky in any form, but wounded, he’s far more dangerous. I fear I’m too fragile for the storm raging inside him, too delicate to withstand the pain that buffets him. But he’s too determined…and too tempting.
And sometimes hope soars above even the iciest desolation.

My thoughts:
Quick read to curl up with for a couple hours this fall!

I would recommend ordering the e-text of this novella, romance was a bit slow-burn and than steamy. I was a bit confused with quite a few references in this book until the last 10-15 pages which basically answered all my questions but than left me with a whole bunch of other ones, haha! 

I don't want to spoil this one it was nice to go in not knowing aspects that made the conclusion much more enjoyable. It was a satisfying quick romance, but I doubt I will reread this one.

Happy Reading!!!

Thank you Penguin Random House Canada, Thomas Allen & Sons and HCC Frenzy for the review copies!

Give-away!!! 

Enter for a chance to win a fall ARC Pack (as pictured) that I've put together. This is going to be a very easy giveaway...

to enter, please leave a comment below saying what you're reading this fall, that's it, I will pick a winner at random
  • only one entry per person
  • giveaway not sponsored by any Publishers, these are copies from my own library that I'm giving away
  • please read review/giveaway page for contest rules and regulations
  • open to Canada and U.S. residents (I'm sorry International readers!)
  • contest closes Sunday, October 19th at 11:59pm (EST)
Good Luck!!!


Cover images and book synopsis' taken from Chapters.ca

2 comments:


  1. Yours article is very helpful. Thank you for providing this type of information.
    clipping path

    ReplyDelete
  2. http://wisconsinreads.org/ Agen Togel Online | Situs Judi Togel | Bandar Togel Resmi | Togel Online

    ReplyDelete